Town Council

About the Council

The Town of Irmo has a Council form of government under which voters go to the polls in November every odd-numbered year. The Council members are elected at-large and serve four-year terms. The Town Manager, appointed by the Council, is primarily responsible for the efficient operation of the town government.

The Mayor and Council make policy and enact laws, rules and regulations in order to provide for future community and economic growth. The Council also provides direction and support for the orderly and efficient operation of town services.

Council meetings are generally held at 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month at the Municipal Building located at 7300 Woodrow Street, Irmo, SC 29063

Town of Irmo Charter

Form of Government

All municipal governments in South Carolina operate under one of three forms of government: mayor-council, council or council-manager. The Town of Irmo is a council form of government

Powers of the Mayor
Municipalities under the council form of government have five, seven or nine members, including a mayor. The mayor presides over meetings (by tradition), performs ceremonial duties, calls special meetings, designates a temporary judge, performs administrative duties (only if authorized by council), and acts and votes as a member of council. The mayor has no additional statutory authority beyond that of other council members

Powers of the Council
Under the council form, the council has all legislative, policy and administrative power. Council establishes departments and prescribes functions; may hire an administrator to assist council; may appoint an officer to administer departments subject to council direction; investigates departments: appoints a clerk, attorney and judge; elects the mayor pro tempore (S.C. Code 5-7-190); and prepares and adopts a balanced budget.

For more information on the different types of Government visit the MASC website:

Forms of Government & Power